Duvar English

Turkish authorities have launched a new wave of arrests against followers of the U.S.-based Islamic preacher Fethullah Gülen, with 12 soldiers from the Naval Forces Command getting detained in seven provinces.

Gülenists are known as members of the Fethullahist Terrorist Organization (FETÖ) – a name given to the group after Ankara designated is as a terrorist organization.

The group is widely believed to have been behind the attempted takeover of July 15, 2016 that resulted in the deaths of over 250 people.

Thousands of people were either sacked, detained or arrested following the botched coup.

Those detained on Jan. 10 include one major who was temporarily dismissed from his post, three sacked lieutenants, one retired noncommissioned officer and seven soldiers on active duty.

The detentions come three days after detention warrants were issued for 20 people who were dismissed from public duty as part of the investigations into Gülenists when they were members of the National Intelligence Agency (MİT).