HÜDA-PAR MPs return to own party after elected under AKP list

With the return of radical Islamist HÜDA-PAR MPs to their own party, the number of political parties in the Parliament has increased to 16. HÜDA-PAR had run in the May 14 general elections under the AKP’s deputy list.

Duvar English

Four lawmakers of the radical Islamist Free Cause Party (HÜDA-PAR) have filed an application with the Parliamentary Speaker’s Office to return to their own party as they had entered the Parliament under the list of the ruling Justice and Development Party (AKP).

With this move, the number of parties in the Parliament increased to 16, and the number of AKP lawmakers decreased to 263.  

The transfer process of HÜDA-PAR chair Zekeriya Yapıcıoğlu has been already finalized, and he is now seen as a lawmaker from HÜDA-PAR on the Parliament’s website. Yapıcıoğlu is expected to soon release a statement with regards to their return to their party.

HÜDA-PAR MPs Faruk Dinç, Serkan Ramanlı and Şahzade Demir’s transfer processes are yet to be finalized which is why they are currently seen as independent lawmakers.

Some lawmakers had entered the May 14 elections under the lists of other parties. Afterwards, they started breaking up from these parties and joining instead their own parties.

Democrat Party (DP), DEVA Party, Future Party and Felicity Party lawmakers left the CHP, whereas the New Welfare Party and Democratic Left Party (DSP) left the AKP, and Labor Party of Turkey (EMEP) lawmakers broke up from the Green Left Party to instead join their own parties.