Proposals to lift immunity of 11 HDP lawmakers submitted to Turkish Parliament

Turkish Parliament has received 25 new summaries of proceedings against 11 HDP lawmakers. If Parliament votes to strip the deputies of their immunity from prosecution, they will be tried by Turkish courts.

Duvar English

Turkey’s Justice Ministry has submitted to Parliament a total of 25 summary of proceedings seeking to have legislative immunity lifted for 11 lawmakers from the Peoples’ Democratic Party. The Joint Constitution and Justice Committee of Parliament will examine the summary of proceedings prepared by the prosecutors.

The proposals target Diyarbakır MPs Salihe Aydeniz, Dersim Dağ, Semra Güzel and Remziye Tosun, Ağrı MP Berdan Öztürk, Van MP Muazzez Orhan Işık, Şanlıurfa MPs Ömer Öcalan, Nuran İmir and Ayşe Sürücü, Batman MP Feleknas Uca and Gaziantep MP Mahmut Toğrul.

In June, Turkish Parliament revoked the parliamentary statuses of two HDP deputies (Leyla Güven and Musa Farisoğulları), bringing the number of seats held by the party to 58.

In November 2016, Turkish Parliament approved stripping its members of immunity from prosecution, a move that paved the way for the trials of opposition legislators.

Turkey seeks to lift parliamentary immunities of 7 HDP deputiesTurkey seeks to lift parliamentary immunities of 7 HDP deputies